Journey into Buddhahood path of compassionate beings bodhisattvas Sa Lama Bhumis
Journey into Buddhahood: The Five Paths and the Ten Stages of Compassionate Beings

Journey into Buddhahood: The Five Paths and the Ten Stages of Compassionate Beings

Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

If you or your Bon Study Group are interested in purchasing 5 or more copies, please email for pricing details. 

To purchase outside of the US, click here.

Tempa Dukte Lama

Foreword by H.E. Menri Lopon

Kindle version of this book available through Amazon

View the table of contents, foreword, and introduction here.

“In this present book, Journey into Buddhahood, Tempa Lama Rinpoche has explained in great depth the teaching of the Five Paths and Ten Stages based on the Sa Lam books by rDro mGon bLo Dros rGyal mTshan and by other ancient great Bon lineage masters. Particularly, Tempa Lama has explained the teaching of the Paths and Stages and its application in everyday life in a way that is simple and easy to understand.

This book is the first time that the Bon teachings on the Paths and Stages of compassionate beings are written in English or any other Western language. At this time people in the West take a deep interest in the practice and teachings of Bon and Buddhism. For those people, this book is like the rain coming at the right time and place. This book will be of great benefit to all those aspiring beings.” 
- H.E. Menri Lopon Yangton Trinley Nyima Rinpoche


Journey into Buddhahood offers a profound guide to attaining full liberation according to the Bon Sutra path, the path of compassionate beings. This journey begins with the aspiration to attain awakening in order to help all sentient beings gain freedom from cyclic existence. The journey consists of five successive paths. On the Path of Accumulation we gather merit and wisdom to help us overcome the two delusions that obscure our true nature. These are the delusion of affliction, which consists of afflictive emotions and afflictive views, and the delusion of intellect, which is the grasping at the self and phenomena as real and substantial. Tempa Lama’s book offers a detailed explanation of these two delusions and how we can gradually transcend them through practicing the Thirty-seven Aspects of Enlightenment. On the second path, the Path of Application, we prepare for the direct recognition of the nature of reality. On the third path, the Path of Seeing, we attain a direct recognition of the true nature of the self and phenomena for the first time. This recognition is deepened and stabilized on the subsequent Path of Meditation. Finally, the compassionate being attains liberation on the Path of No More Learning or full Buddhahood.

Olmo Ling Publications, 2014.

249pp, paperback, $18.95.